top of page

Weekly Update: Week 3

1). Take Home Library Levels

This past week, our students started participating in take home library. I used their first grade benchmark level and adjusted most of them down. My reason for doing this is that I will be finding out their current reading level this week when I benchmark them on Friday. It can be quite common for students to lose a reading level over the summer and I did not want any student to feel that they were moving backward in progress. However, I did want them to start reading take home books immediately so I did not want to wait until I had their current benchmark. A week from today, the level you see on your child's bag will reflect their current reading level.

2). Room Representative & Parent Helpers

I am looking for someone to be my room representative! This means that you would help me in running our class parties, as well as helping with any other classroom needs we may have. If you would be interested in becoming my room representative, please let me know! Also, just a reminder that parent helpers will start on the 19th of this month.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1jy1hv6Gs-5i_DADUfLJjOBbu6qBwcNOTn5EGRiYbTQY/edit

3). Homework (coming home tomorrow!)

Tomorrow, our first homework packet will be sent home. Homework will be sent home every week that we are in school for 4 or more days. It will cover material that we learned in class during the previous week. If I have not covered something in class, but one of the pages covers that topic, I will not send that page home. Homework is sent home on Mondays (but will be sent home on tuesday this week since we did not have school on monday) and is due back to school the following Monday. Two points are given for homework that is on time and complete. One point is given for homework that is late and/or partially completed. 0 points are given for homework that is not turned in. Let me know if you have any questions!

If you are ever missing a homework packet, let me know and I would be happy to send home another one. Additionally, all of our homework can be found on our class website at: www.jessicayoung5.wix.com/secondgrade

4). Reading Calendars! (Due now)

Paper Calendar Parents: Paper reading calendars were due last Friday! Please turn them in this week if you have not turned them in already. New September Calendars were also sent home Friday.

Google Calendar Parents: The google form for this was sent to you last Thursday night. If you are choosing to do the google calendars, please fill out this form if you haven't already. On the last day of this month, you will receive the same type of form asking how many minutes that you read for September. Here is the link if you need it again! https://docs.google.com/a/nebo.edu/forms/d/1ZtXvCMDPsyw1mK2yqSBj3V1hEifvMT2VDD4MNyhN_EM/edit?usp=drive_web

Late points are not given for reading calendars, but I use the minutes your child has read to enter them into school incentives, such as having a party with the principal or getting a free book.

5). Tshirts

I am ordering T-shirts this week! Please return the size form to school tomorrow if you have not filled it out already. These forms were given out at back to school night. Additionally, I sent a form home with every student that was missing on on Friday. Let me know if you have any questions about this!

6). Google Drive Photos

In addition to Instagram, I use google drive to store all of my photos that I have from our classroom. I upload all of my pictures at the end of the month and resend the link on the first Monday of the month. However, if you refer back to this email, you can use the link in it to access the photos at any time during the month! I will still be using instagram to post a few times a week, but all of the photos that I have, including the ones that I instagram, will be available at this link in case you'd like to see even more photos or are not interested in using the app.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B6-zXfHthXcyLTN5Y1ZQUzhNUWc


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page